Abruzzolutely Forum

Utilities => Telephone => Topic started by: levissima on March 22, 2015, 02:07:21 PM

Title: Landline
Post by: levissima on March 22, 2015, 02:07:21 PM
Having been without a landline since 5 March and there being, so far, no news of it being repaired, I'm begining to wonder whether to bother!

Between Skype, FaceTime, email, the forum and my antiquated mobile I've managed to keep in touch with most of my friends. It was a bit of a bind when I felt the need to shout at my ENGLISH bank but I emailed them and they kindly rang me on my italian mobile!

Anyone else thinking of saying cheerio to telecom Italia?
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: thediggers on March 22, 2015, 02:47:32 PM
Often, but we do have family members in the UK that specifically switched their landline there to Sky to enable them to make free calls to Italy. We too had our landline here down for a week, no bother for us, but the family were asking about it. Didn't really wan to raise a fault as I knew they would be busy enough with likely more urgent needs. However I raised a fault via their site and it was fixed a day or so later when this gruff Italian guy called the line and (I'm guessing) told me it was fixed! We never seen him at the house but did see a van going up and down the road on the day it was fixed, so we guess the problem was further down the road... Quite good for Italy that they have an online facility to check your line, just registered with their site as a customer and you can access the area and kick off a test. Mind you the result we had was that the test could not run on our line - still had to raise the fault...
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Olive Oyl on March 22, 2015, 04:34:02 PM
We have never had a landline as TIM apparently think we and our neighbours are too far out of the village for a line. We all just use mobiles and Dave and I use skype for calls with family. His mobile is a payg which gives us 120 mins per mo th to the UK for 5euros. Even if we could get a landline now I don't think I'd bother
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: levissima on March 22, 2015, 07:53:05 PM
Well done The Diggers!

I have tried phoning over several days but all I get is "sorry for the inconvenience, all our lines are busy please call again later"

I've tried on line, first it said I was already registered, then it asked for my codice and told me it had no record of me, then it gave me a new password, then it timed out, then I got an error page then it told me I'd used up my attempts, then it asked me to phone a special number using my LANDLINE. Finally I got to technical assistance and the page is temporarily down please try later.

That's enough for tonight, I'm going to crack a bottle of stress relief!:(
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Shebar on March 22, 2015, 08:15:34 PM
Since you've managed reasonably well without your landline, I'd just write them a letter telling them not to bother re-instating it - that way you won't have to pay them an enormous sum to disconnect you.
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Allan Mason on March 22, 2015, 08:36:12 PM
Since you've managed reasonably well without your landline, I'd just write them a letter telling them not to bother re-instating it - that way you won't have to pay them an enormous sum to disconnect you.

 :)  :D  ;D

Excellent idea, but everything I know about TelecomItalia and its ilk says that there's nil chance of this working.

And of course - as I'm sure Shebar and Levi both know - you must send the correct form via registered post in order to have any chance of ever getting a bill for disconnection.

My personal feeling is that anyone who can figure out a way of doing without a land line is well advised to try to avoid becoming ensnared by TI or any of the other telecom providers that use TI wires.

Al
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: southerngirl on March 22, 2015, 09:56:30 PM
I have never had a land line.  When I bought my house I had a friend set up auto pay.  Come to find out the line to my house had been chewed up by rats years earlier.  Telecom wanted 5000 Euro to run another line. 
I told them that I would do without.
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Vignaverde on March 23, 2015, 02:16:36 PM
I use, skype but using a telephone that does not need a computer to run, just an internet connection.
I pay around £7 per month and that includes european calls to landlines and to mobiles !!! (some countries are not included for mobile calls but most are including UK and Italy). It works fantastic and saves you a fortune, you can also pay for a UK number so your friends and family in the UK will pay local  rates, this costs around £30 per year.
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: maritodi on March 23, 2015, 02:32:57 PM
I agree with VV that Skype is the way to go, I pay a small subscription for all of my International calls.
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: thediggers on March 23, 2015, 02:56:00 PM
Yeh we use Skype to, but unless you are using "Skype in" it (you) have to be on-line/signed in to Skype for people to call you. Also the quality at times is crap compared to the landline and if you have problems with your device starting up and you have Skype automatically signing you in I can guarantee half the delay will be Skype! All in all, like I said, we too would get rid of the landline, but just make sure you know what you are getting with the alternatives... Talking of which, I've not tried it out yet, but Firefox in their latest browser release have a built in call feature for "Firefox to Firefox" user, no sign in, membership etc,
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Vignaverde on March 23, 2015, 05:05:34 PM
The diggers, just buy a skype phone, the one where you do not need a computer, it is like a normal cordless phone and you do not have to keep signing in etc, it is constantly signed in. You just use it like a normal phone  :)
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: thediggers on March 23, 2015, 05:27:40 PM
The diggers, just buy a skype phone, the one where you do not need a computer, it is like a normal cordless phone and you do not have to keep signing in etc, it is constantly signed in. You just use it like a normal phone  :)

No they are not, and signed in to Skype is likely the cause of any problem you have as it's a resource hog ... I only sign in when I need to use it. Sorry to say you need to likely check exactly what Skype is and how it communicates with the web, leaving it open is not an option for me...
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: levissima on March 23, 2015, 05:52:58 PM
Apple devices have "FaceTime" built in. With this you either enter the number of an iPhone or the email address of an apple user and bingo you have a video connection. The advantage is that it only needs the device to be on, not necessarily with FaceTime selected. Easier to use than skype but only for apple, so I have skype as well.

The land line I suppose is useful as a backup and also because the italians are still so fond of FAX!
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Vignaverde on March 23, 2015, 05:59:43 PM
The diggers, just buy a skype phone, the one where you do not need a computer, it is like a normal cordless phone and you do not have to keep signing in etc, it is constantly signed in. You just use it like a normal phone  :)

No they are not, and signed in to Skype is likely the cause of any problem you have as it's a resource hog ... I only sign in when I need to use it. Sorry to say you need to likely check exactly what Skype is and how it communicates with the web, leaving it open is not an option for me...

I know you always like to disagree with me but I was only trying to help.
The engineer from Telecom Italia (who I now know very well) asked me to disconnect my skype phone so he could test the line and he found no major problem with it. I keep it on all the time with no problem at all and my internet is c**p at the moment !
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: thediggers on March 23, 2015, 06:21:56 PM
Apple devices have "FaceTime" built in. With this you either enter the number of an iPhone or the email address of an apple user and bingo you have a video connection. The advantage is that it only needs the device to be on, not necessarily with FaceTime selected. Easier to use than skype but only for apple, so I have skype as well.

The land line I suppose is useful as a backup and also because the italians are still so fond of FAX!

Think you may find Firefox have introduced the equivalent, like I said I've not tried it yet, but they are also supposed to be doing a version for Apple devices this year, so I guess it will work over all devices...
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Cassius on March 23, 2015, 07:31:47 PM
We used a VoiP phone that is an internet phone and had an English phone number, however the internet people changed the frequency of our receiver and after that the phone didn't work any more. The phone people blamed the internet people and the internet people blamed the phone people and we gave up and used Skype and a Google hang out for those on Google.   It's not the best solution but better by far than being in thrall to Telecom Italia.
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Allan Mason on March 23, 2015, 08:03:05 PM
We used an earlier model of this Skype phone for about five years: http://dstele.com/rtx-skype-dualphone-3088-no-pc-required.html?gclid=CjwKEAjw876oBRCYr86w6KGfpkgSJAACIidwDxx1jdevj_gTiT2qFrbS3VWYkT5DNqkZS0oKb_Xd2BoCZETw_wcB (http://dstele.com/rtx-skype-dualphone-3088-no-pc-required.html?gclid=CjwKEAjw876oBRCYr86w6KGfpkgSJAACIidwDxx1jdevj_gTiT2qFrbS3VWYkT5DNqkZS0oKb_Xd2BoCZETw_wcB)

The quality was dodgy at times when we used a landline "ADSL" service, but it worked very well with the Micso WiFi service. The quality was at least as good and it was at least as reliable as the mobile service we had on the slopes of the Gran Sasso. A good landline would have been better, but that was something we learned not to rely on.

The way it worked was that during setup you entered your Skype user name and password, so the phone then logged itself into Skype whenever it had power. It plugged into a router and obviously the internet connection device had to be on, but you didn't need a computer of any sort switched on. We never had any problems with massive amounts of bandwidth being hogged by the phone and the device functioned quite well, given it was on all the time. There were a couple of occasions when we had to do the "unplug, count to ten and plug in again" routine with the base station and we had to pull the batteries out of the handset a couple of times to do a reset, but those were the only niggles.

Like Cassius, we paid Skype for the use of a normal UK telephone number, so people dialed an Edinburgh-prefix number and the phone in our Italian living room rang. Slightly strange concept, but it worked quite well.

I did briefly experiment with using Skype on a smartphone connected to the household WiFi network and that seemed to me a viable alternative. Anyone interested in Skype who has a smartphone that can run the app without the phone being rendered useless for anything else might consider messing around with this.

Al
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: tobylap on March 24, 2015, 06:24:36 AM
I've been using Vonage(through Internet) for 2 years here. It's $12/month incl. taxes and I kept my US number and can call US and Canada as much as I want. There are other plans for Europe.
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: levissima on March 24, 2015, 08:48:54 AM
Having jumped through all the hoops I finally get onto the technical assistance page... To report that I have no phone line, and this is what I get!!

Benvenuto nell'Area Clienti
Nel pieno rispetto della riservatezza e di tutela dei tuoi dati personali ti
invitiamo a completare la registrazione chiamando il numero gratuito
40123 dalla tua linea di casa selezionando l'opzione 2

Ehem! How do I ring that number from my house phone when I have no house phone?!!

How did you do it the diggers?
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: thediggers on March 24, 2015, 10:15:44 AM
Having jumped through all the hoops I finally get onto the technical assistance page... To report that I have no phone line, and this is what I get!!

Benvenuto nell'Area Clienti
Nel pieno rispetto della riservatezza e di tutela dei tuoi dati personali ti
invitiamo a completare la registrazione chiamando il numero gratuito
40123 dalla tua linea di casa selezionando l'opzione 2

Ehem! How do I ring that number from my house phone when I have no house phone?!!

How did you do it the diggers?

Ah that might be a bit more difficult as I guess you are trying to register for their site looking at the above? I registered Jun 2011, originally I certainly did not phone them to do so, but looking at the documents I have on it I had to re-register in 2012 as they all of a sudden decided they wanted an email address as the user... So I did indeed have to ring that number from our phone an pick option 2 (yes I also have a note of how stupid that is...) . Fortunately I did not need to speak to them as I would have never got registered.  I'll have a look for you and see if I can raise a fault on another phone....  :)
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Relaxed on March 24, 2015, 10:25:47 AM
Skype on a smartphone is excellent technically in my experience, but you do need to have  a camera on the front of the phone if you want to use it for videocalls. It's also not ideal for video because you have to wave it about in front of your face and you end up looking like a really bad selfie!
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: levissima on March 26, 2015, 02:45:32 PM
Telecom engineer came today, went up the pole, looked in the box, announced "e rotto!" And left.

Great service :) thank goodness ENEL and the water people take things more seriously!
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: levissima on March 30, 2015, 05:05:37 PM
Amazingly I got my first piece of post in just under a month, and what is it? Why the pigging phone bill, of course! I think it's called adding insult to injury! >:(
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: maritodi on March 30, 2015, 05:55:00 PM
It could be time to vote with your feet!  :(
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: thediggers on March 30, 2015, 08:27:17 PM
Send the bill back and ask them to call you about it....
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Shebar on March 30, 2015, 08:37:22 PM
 ;D ;D ;D

Brilliant solution - and I'll be chuckling for days, just at the thought!  Italians don't really do irony, do they?

Go on Levi - this could run and run..........
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Cesare Rinato on March 31, 2015, 09:14:48 AM
At the risk of having my name forever linked with Mr Blue Skies can I recount my recent experience with Telecom Italia. In January my landline crackled sadly for a while then stopped working. Worried that my Italian wasn't up to the job I asked a friend to phone their emergency number. She was given short shrift and told that they had to talk to me at my house "so they could talk me through it" Next day the phone was OK so I didn't pursue it. A few days later I received a message asking if my phone was OK. I replied that it was working. Last week with I received my phone bill for the usual amount. Enclosed was a note saying because of my technical problems they had delayed my bill for a month. Grazie mille.

Sadly, the story continues because the phone and the internet went off again a couple of times, recently. I realised that the problem occurs every time it rains. So I will be phoning them again soon. Incidentally. I had exactly the same problem in darkest Surrey and dear old BT took 10 years to sort it out. The nearest I got to any sort of understudying from them was a curt "try another handset. If the problem is your equipment we will charge you for our engineer's time."
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: levissima on March 31, 2015, 09:30:05 AM
Another reason to consider dispensing with Telecom Italia is that there are major changes coming in May.

Having looked at my latest bill, I see that teleconomia international is going. There's no word of a replacement and tariffs are changing too.

Speaking to a friend with a smart phone, she pays €6 a month and uses Whatsap. It's becoming a no brainier!
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: levissima on April 20, 2015, 07:29:58 PM
Ok, so I've made the decision to dispense with my land line, downloaded the correct form off the internet, filled it in and sent it ricomendata (s). For the first time I actually scrutinised my bill, only to discover I've been paying rental on the old, hearing aid beige phone, which was left by the previous house owner. The form stipulates that, if you have a telecom phone, you must return it to telecom within 30 days. It says you must take it to 187 shop.

So, I look up 187 shops in my area and off I go to one in Pineto. They don't accept the phone and send me to another shop in Rosetto, this shop is now a "wind" shop, so I'm sent to yet another telecom shop, who also refuse to take the blasted phone. I'm damned if I'm going to pay the postage to send it anywhere other than the chief execs home address!

Anyone else encountered this? What was your solution?
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: iggle piggle on April 20, 2015, 09:52:43 PM
I had the same problem when we cancelled our contract with a modem- I gave up and posted it in the end.
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: Relaxed on April 20, 2015, 11:43:55 PM
Well, I was with Vodafone for the fixed line stuff, and decided to ditch all landline (phone and adsl)  services in mid Jan. This required a letter to Vod, raccommandata etc. and I succeeded in being 'cut off' in the middle of March. (I note that you can now ditch a Vod landline online.)

Landlines are becoming historic. Vod have understood this. However, I have yet to discover how much Vodafone are going to charge me for having eliminated them. They made me aware of my 'bollettini' (bills) via my connection to their (pretty good) site - but the moment that they (at my request) cut me off - they also cut me off from seeing my bill! This is pretty scary, since I authorised the  payment of this final bill to my credit card - (coincidentally I had closed the bank account which had the longstanding direct debit) - so I'm wondering just how much they are going to screw me for, and I have no idea until the credit card statement arrives!

And. of course, the arrival of the credit card statement depends on whether (or when) the 'postman' bothers to deliver it. I fully accept (This is Italy) that it will be 'my fault' - because I should have (if I needed to - and how would I know?) have complained earlier.

I've lived in Italy for 25 years, and I have to say (from the point of view of a keep your head down, be legal sort of person) it is getting worse.
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: thediggers on April 21, 2015, 01:32:13 PM
Someone with 25 year in Italy saying it is getting worse is a worry. Wonder how much of it is the Italians modernising in their own unique way...?  :o
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: levissima on April 21, 2015, 03:56:14 PM
Over the last ten years I've paid more than €500 for that bloody old phone and they want it back! What for? They will only chuck it in their bin instead of mine! Perhaps I'll just take the cost of postage off the final bill.... See if they take me to court?! After all they can't cut me off ;D
Title: Re: Landline
Post by: maritodi on April 21, 2015, 04:30:11 PM
Why don't you sell it at Mercatino Usato?  ;D

This way you can save the postage and maybe make enough money to buy an expresso  ;D