Please register if you want to contribute!

Author Topic: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o  (Read 2323 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline The Kid

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 652
'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« on: May 24, 2016, 10:11:48 PM »
It appears that Filmon has removed Dave (and only Dave) from their UKTV channels.

Today is a very sad day for expats around the world....  :(


Offline Orbito

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2016, 09:55:32 AM »
You can get Dave on the UKTV Play add on on Kodi - so all is not lost :D (I've just checked, it's still there).

For those who don't yet use it Kodi is free open source streaming software. You can download it to any device, you don't need a VPN, and although it's a bit complex to first set up, it is fab.

Offline The Kid

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 652
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2016, 02:02:13 PM »
Oh, not heard of Kodi before, I'll check it out now!

Thanks for the info Orbito!! ;)

Offline Grimsby Ranger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2016, 02:20:47 PM »
I've got KODI on an Amazon TV Firestick, just need the help of a computer to set it up initially then all done via the stick, goes straight into an HDMI slot on the tele. Loads of walkthroughs on Youtube on setting it up and what addons to install. Put Exodus on it and you can even watch Game of Thrones on Sunday evening before it's screened on the Monday in the UK  ;)

Offline Orbito

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2016, 04:26:52 PM »
Thanks for the info Orbito!! ;)

No probs - as Grimsby says, the latest shows are pretty much all there. I downloaded the software to my 15" screen laptop - it's better than tellie :D and recently I've been watching Father Brown, Doctor Thorne, Grantchester, The Durrells and so on.

As a very simple explanation, Kodi is like a big shopping neighbourhood, then you set up the repositories (like shopping malls). In those repositories are add ons (the equivalent of video stores, if you like). There's a quick Kodi configuration you can follow but it loads it up with lots of add ons I didn't want, so I did my own.

You need to google a bit to find out which repositories have which add ons - I have UKTV Play, Genesis (sadly no longer supported), Specto, Exodus and Velocity as my main ones.

Offline Brush Strokes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • http://abruzzodecorators.wixsite.com/italy
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2016, 06:19:56 PM »
Hope it is easier to get than it sounds. You Tube tutorials here I come.
 

Offline Orbito

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2016, 06:34:58 PM »
Hope it is easier to get than it sounds. You Tube tutorials here I come.

In my usual fashion I've probably made it sound more complicated than it really is  ;D. if I can do it, anyone can - but feel free to PM me with any questions.

Offline The Kid

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 652
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2016, 07:12:11 PM »
Thanks again Orbito, this software is great!

The current UKTV NOW (live) plugin has most Freeview and Sky channels (including Sky F1!!), as well as some US tv streams!!  8)

Offline Relaxed

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2016, 07:29:35 PM »
OMG - Sky F1! This has been a nightmare this year - no F1 (apart from a dreadful stream on something which makes them jump about like Scalextrics!) It'll be on in the bar for a bit, until those footballers start up again

I shall have to try this. Off to have a look at this Kodi. Thanks so much for the tip.

Offline Orbito

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2016, 08:56:29 PM »
Payment in Prosecco please.

Just kidding - glad I could be of help, I've got so much off this forum already, time I returned the favour  :D.

Offline Cassius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 404
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2016, 10:25:31 AM »
Do you know if Kodi works on Chromebooks - quite a few things don't.

Offline Orbito

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #11 on: May 26, 2016, 11:55:26 AM »
Hi Cassius - just googled and apparently you need to install Linux on a chromebook - here's a walkthrough - https://kodi-portal.com/how-to-install-xbmc-kodi-on-chromebook-chrome-os-2/

Offline Cassius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 404
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #12 on: May 26, 2016, 05:08:55 PM »
Many thanks

Offline Orbito

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2016, 08:34:15 PM »
FYI a load of British TV shows are in the Phoenix add on.

Phoenix is in the fusion repository, here's a walkthrough https://seo-michael.co.uk/how-to-install-phoenix-for-xbmc/

Once you've added Phoenix, click on the box titled TNPB/TV/Best of British.

Offline Brush Strokes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • http://abruzzodecorators.wixsite.com/italy
Re: 'Dave' no longer on Filmon...!?! :o
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2016, 04:47:15 PM »
Hope it is easier to get than it sounds. You Tube tutorials here I come.

In my usual fashion I've probably made it sound more complicated than it really is  ;D. if I can do it, anyone can - but feel free to PM me with any questions.

Surprisingly I have sorted it. The YouTube video was very useful. It was when you mentioned suppositories, I started to get confused and worried. ;)