Please register if you want to contribute!

Author Topic: Residency  (Read 3058 times)

Offline Cheryl

Residency
« on: August 27, 2014, 11:36:18 AM »
Have been looking into getting residency and we meet criteria except for private health insurance, does everyone have it who is a resident ?

Offline linsead oil

Re: Residency
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 11:40:50 AM »
 a lot of people get it for the first year then hok up with the local health system  ring  g batt9 get it from the horses mouth he  has been sorting out theses problems for 27 yearts not just for englisyh but for italians allso

Offline Cesare Rinato

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 03:03:51 PM »
I am a resident, and have a Tessera Sanitaria ( or I would have if ASL had bothered to send me the promised replacement card ) However, I have also kept private health insurance. This was not to meet residency requirements. My company provided health insurance and so I simply kept it going. I spoke to Allianz ( who at the time insured my house contents and car) They did a reasonably priced insurance but I opted for a UK company, who included repatriation to the UK. It cost a fair bit more but I thought I would rather wake up in a hospital where I would have some idea of what is going on rather than spend most of my time trying to remember the Italian for "I need a bedpan immediately"

I don't think my commune asked for private health insurance, just proof of income. I simply took my tax return along, they smiled and looked blank and sent the local vigil around to check out I was actually living here. He arrived at my house with a colleague and they sat down. I offered coffee and prepared myself for an in depth grilling. This consisted of her asking my name at which point he looked out of the window. Said "it looks like rain" and they left.